Pentalpha #194 History

On July 7, 1893, a group of Masonic brethren assembled in Norman Hall (located above the John A Belt store) to organize a lodge of Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons in Gaithersburg. Lynch Lodge #163 A.F. & A.M. of Frederick, Maryland, fostered this action.

On July 27, 1893, the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Maryland, Brother Thomas J. Shyrock, granted a dispensation and Pentalpha Lodge was instituted. On November 22, 1893, at 10:00 a.m., a charter was granted by the Grand Lodge and Pentalpha Lodge was legally constituted.

Pentalpha’s first elected officers were Brothers Robert M. Moore, Worshipful Master; E.D. Kinsley, Senior Warden; John A. Belt, Junior Warden; P.M. Smith, Secretary; and H.B. Cramer, Treasurer.

The first meeting took place in a rented hall over the harness shop belonging to J.H. Nicholls.  On December 22, 1899, the cornerstone was laid for a new Masonic Temple on Russell Avenue. The building was built by Delta Lodge of Perfection, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. Pentalpha remianed in this building until late 1972, when the building was condemned and the Lodge was forced to move. The Temple on Russell Avenue was razed in 1976.

For the next fourteen years, the Lodge held meetings at various locations, including the Knights of Pythias Hall on Game Preserve Road, Darnestown Presbyterian Church and Epworth Methodist Church. In 1983, the house and land on old Route 118 (now Boland Farm Road) were purchased and meetings were held in the two-car garage better known as the “cozy lodge”.

In December 1992, Pentalpha held its first meeting in their new Lodge Room.  During the first 100 years, other Masonic orders have made Pentalpha Masonic Center their home, including the Order of the Eastern Star (1920), The International Order of Jobs Daughters (1946), and the International Order of Rainbow for Girls (1992).

Pentalpha Lodge is one of five Lodges in Montgomery County that are under the jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Maryland, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons.  The other four Lodges are Montgomery-Cornerstone Lodge #195 in Rockville; Kensington-Bethesda Lodge #198 in Kensington; Silver Spring Lodge #215 in Silver Spring; and Wheaton Lodge #228 in Wheaton.

Past Masters of Pentalpha Lodge #194

*1893-95 Robert M. Moore
1955 Raymond M. Housley
*1896 E.D. Kingsley *1956 Rowe E. Christopher
*1897 John A. Belt *1957 William M. Christie
*1898 James B. Adams #1958 Robert E. Rhoades
*1899 John M. McCormick *1959 Ralph M. Sangrey
*1900 Thomas O. White *1960-61 Charles W. Cuffley
*1901 James Rourke *1962 C. William Nicol
*1902 Benjamin O. Woodward *1963 Edward W. Talley
*1903 Harry B. Cramer *1964 Harry E. Baker, Jr.
*1904 James B. Adams #1965 Thomas A. Hallack, Jr.
*1905 I.G. Warfield *1966 Thomas A. Hallack, Sr.
*1906 Thomas I. Fulks *1967 Glenn E. Gilliam
*1907-08 Alex G. Carlisle 1968 Ellwood B. Fraley
*1909 R.B. Moore 1969 Bruce E. Kosian
*1910 F.H. Grimm *1970 Thomas W. Phoebus
*1911 Hanson G. Cashell *1971 James R. Park
*1912 Bates Etchison *1972 Walter D. Hoffman, Jr.
*1913 David R. Hershey 1973 Walter L. Hagen
*1914 R.N. Walker *1974 Grant L. Hagen
*1915 M.W. Brewer 1975 Sidney A. Katz
*1916 Charles E. Becraft
*1976 Henry W. Setzer
*1917 William A. Waters 1977 Allen J. Katz
*1918 Harold B. Kingsley 1978 Edmund S. Copeland
*1919 William A. Waters 1979 Robert D. McCutcheon, II
*1920 Thomas W. Troxell #1980 James A. Rowley, Jr.
*1921 C.E. Crawford 1981 Michael C. Shelton
*1922 J. Herbert Becraft 1982 Quincy Ewing, III
*1923 Raymond I. Ford *1983 Amos D. Faux-Burhans
*1924 H.R. McCabe 1984 Royce A. Watson
*1925 Norman B. Jacobs 1985 Jerome K. Bradford
*1926 Merle T. Jacobs 1986 Bryan C. Troutman
*1927 H. Garnett Briggs *1987 Amos D. Faux-Burhans
*1928 J. Russell King 1988 Earl E. Wood
*1929 R.C. Green *1989 William F. McFadden
*1930 Ira Darby #1990
#1931 A.B. Roland 1991 Frederick G. Kleyn, III
*1932 Clarence E. Becraft #1992 Don R. Lasher
+1933 Roy L. Talbott 1993 William L. Coldiron
*1934 Hanson G. Cashell 1994
Addison L. Caracciolo
*1935-36 Walter F. Reinhart *1995 Charles I.S. Hahn
+1937 William O. Young *1996 William J. Buie
*1938 William H. White 1997 Wayne A. Hall
*1939 Albert B. Easter 1998 Scott C. Hahn
*1940 William J. Stup
Glen L. Sunderland
*1941 R.L. Thurston *2000
Charles I.S. Hahn
*1942-43 Alfred Christie 2001 Brian S. Cheboski
*1944 John E. Speich 2002 Jeffrey M. Coney
*1945 William J. Stup 2003 Thomas E. Robinson
*1946 Albert B. Easter 2004 Robert E. Case
*1947 Donald A. Nutt *2005 Charles I. S. Hahn
Leslie B. Schmidl
2006 Jeffrey M. Coney
*1949 Harvey S. Lyles 2007-08 Edward D. Johnson
*1950 Ralph J. Hayward 2009-12 William S. Renner
*1951 Clyde B. Stup 2013-14 Robert F. Reid
*1952 Ernest B. Lipford 2015 Christopher Childers
*1953 Louis D. Wynkoop
*1954 Robert L. Younkins
* Deceased
# Demitted
+ Non-Member
Bold – Currently serving as Lodge or Temple & Library Association OfficerAffiliated Past Masters
Ted Gaughan
Edwin I. Klein
E. Scott Klein
James S. Mays

Honorary Past Masters
Thomas A. Marraffa, Jr.